From time to time on your website you may need to allow other people access to your website.
You may have a virtual assistant who wants to make changes to your website or you may want to give access to a developer.
Whilst you can hand over your passwords, a safer way is to provide them with their own logon.
There are a number of different user “roles” that you can choose to set up your new user. A comprehensive list is here on WordPress own training notes and will depend on how much access you want to give the user.
Full “admin” rights will give the user access to change anything. Admin rights are usually given to a developer. Editing rights is another useful profile that can be used by a Virtual Assistant for example to create posts on your behalf.
Log on to Your WordPress Site
To enter a WordPress website, you need to add /wp-admin to the end of your url. This will give me access to make changes to your website to conduct the audit.
Do this through your normal website browser that you use to access the internet.
Enter your log on Details
If you can’t remember than just click on “forgot password”
Enter the "users" menu
The users menu is on the lefthand side of your screen when you first enter WordPress. Yours might look slightly different.
Choose Users – Add New
Next add the user
Please use the following details
First Name: ABC
Last Name: DEF
Password: Anything [will be changed]
***Note: Tick “Send the new user an email”
Click: Add New User
An email will be sent to new user and they will be able to access your website. When they have completed the work, you can delete them as a user.
how to delete a user from wordpress
Once the user has finished working on your website. You can delete them off.
1. log on to wordpress
Follow step one from the first part of this guide “Add a new user in WordPress”
2. Enter the WordPress "Users" Menu
Once again enter the User Menu shown on the lefthand side of your screen.
USERS – ALL USERS
3. Choose the WordPress user to delete
Tick the checkbox next to the user you wish to delete. In this example it is “Plinkit”
4. choose DELETE
Under the menu option “Bulk Actions” change the option to Delete
5. press apply
6. confirm deletion
When you delete a user, you can delete any content they have created or move that content to another user.
To be safe, always choose “Attribute all content to” and choose yourself. If the user you have deleted has made any changes such as adding a blog post or creating anything for you on your behalf, then you will loose that content if you choose delete all content. The second option will transfer it to your name.
Once confirmed, that user will be deleted and will no longer have access to your website.